Fight the Power

Daily Prompt entry~

Tell us about a time when you fought authority and took a stand against “the man.” Did you win?

One time, me and my partner got into the third level Finalist during an IdeaSpace competition. We were asked to tape a video as we present our entry. When our mentor of the said competition saw me in the taping room, he said to me in a high brow, “Why are you here? So you’re still alive? I don’t always see you around at school. You’re always absent!”

I smiled, as it was my usual response to him, then said, “I’m not, Sir! We just don’t always meet.” I meant to say, “Our schedules don’t always meet.”

“You’re one month absent, aren’t you?”

“No, sir, I’m not. Just several weeks. How can I be here if I’m always absent.” I reasoned out, still smiling, because honestly, I just didn’t know how else to react. Our Professor, let’s call him Professor G, is our favorite teacher in school–I mean it sarcastically by the way.

Anyway, he was smiling at me but his smiles were turning dull, then sour, and then dull again. He was always like that when facing me, so it didn’t surprise me. In fact, I’m one of his favorite students in class in terms of recitation, humiliation, humor, and everything else. Honestly speaking, I often love going against him. And he loves giving me the hard ways.

“Don’t kid me around. You can’t tape today unless you go to the Guidance Office, bring me a letter signed by the Counselor.” Professor G told me cunningly.

“But why, sir? What letter?!” I said, and believe me, I was saying this with all the smiles that might actually creep him out. “I told you, I wasn’t absent for months, you’re just too busy to see me around.”

“Stop smiling now and bring me the letter.”

“What letter…”

“You go figure it out.”

“Pfft. Alright.” I sighed in defeat.

When he was gone, my classmate whispered to me, “Hey, I’ve done that recently, too. I’ve got a sample, an apology letter stating your numbers of absences, you want a copy?”

“Cool! Let me…”

“By the way, he was scolding you and you were smiling. That’s creepy.”

In short, I didn’t win against the Big Boss.

the big boss

Photo Credits to Owner

This is Professor G

One Comment

There is joy in communication, let's talk.

