So We Watched “Maleficent”

maleficent movie review

Okay, so we watched the movie “Maleficent” last night with my sister and brother. My first choice was actually X-Men, but I didn’t regret that we chose Maleficent. So here’s my cents after watching the movie:

SPOILERS AHEAD

Boring. In the beginning, that is. I really thought it was kind of boring, especially since I thought I already knew the ending, or what would happen next. I thought wrong. Anyway, even though it was more on conversations at the beginning, with magic and all fairy stuffs, it wasn’t about that which made me bored, but because of Maleficent’s crown on her head–well, I find it quite disturbing, but that’s what she is. Haha.

The movie tells the story of Maleficent as to what drove her to put the curse on our childhood Disney character: Sleeping Beauty. Aurora’s father betrayed Maleficent and stole her beloved wings, her hatred and vengeance made her evil, and on the day of Aurora’s Christening, Maleficent invited herself and cursed the baby. Okay–we all knew that from childhood, right.

The movie is not really perfect, and well, it’s mostly dark and full of hatred, and I don’t agree with it. I just liked it when Maleficent started to love the girl, Aurora, even though she initially hated her for being the daughter of the man who betrayed her. As Aurora grew up, Maleficent grew fond of her, and they started to interact with each other. Later on in the movie, Maleficent regretted that she put the curse on Aurora. She tried to revoke it when Aurora was sleeping, but the curse wouldn’t break except for the “true love’s kiss.” Now, now, that’s Disney’s trademark!

Maleficent put the curse that way because she believed that true love doesn’t exist, therefore, it won’t break. But when Aurora touched her motherly love, Maleficent then wanted to help her, and she tried to break the curse by bringing in the “Prince Charming” in the castle. The twist is that Aurora didn’t wake up when the prince kissed her, something that I expected though. Maleficent, filled with regret, went to Aurora’s bed and promised her to protect her from any harm as long as she lives. Then she kissed Aurora’s forehead. When she turned away, Aurora woke up, and that proves that Maleficent’s love for Aurora is true love, as if like a mother to a daughter. That’s the point of the story which I liked the most–because it shows a motherly love towards a child.

Anyway, I must admit that initially, I didn’t predict it would be Maleficent’s kiss that would wake Aurora up, I really thought it was going to be Diaval! Diaval is Maleficent’s servant, a black crow who has also witnessed Aurora’s growing up. Maleficent often times turn Diaval into a wolf, sometimes a horse, but Diaval is mostly seen in a man form. It was only later in the story that I realized it was going to be Maleficent when she told Diaval, “That’s why I put the curse. Because true love doesn’t exist.” That’s the point in the story which made me think, “Ah, it’s going to be Maleficent’s true love for Aurora, and not anyone else. Not even Diaval.”

My favorite character in the movie--Diaval

My favorite character in the movie–Diaval

But hey, I must also admit, I was quite disappointed that it wasn’t Diaval. Haha. Well, he was my favorite character in the movie next to Maleficent. Diaval’s character is entertaining.

maleficent and diaval

Diaval and Maleficent, watching Aurora from afar.

Anyway, to end this up, I don’t seriously agree with some of the movie lines and all, but then, it’s just a movie and must remain that way.

My older sister, younger brother, and me.

My older sister, younger brother, and me.

3 Comments

    1. Indeed! Hahaha, I couldn’t agree more. I was deeply touched by Maleficent’s speech to Aurora, it only proves that she has learned to love the baby she once cursed.

      Like

      Reply

There is joy in communication, let's talk.

